City of Mississauga

Minutes



Road Safety Committee

Date

2017/12/12

Time

9:30 AM

Location

Civic Centre, Hearing Room - Second Floor, 300 Civic Centre Drive, Mississauga, Ontario, L5B 3C1

Members Present

Councillor Karen Ras, Ward 2 Councillor Pat Saito, Ward 9

Alaina DeCaire, Citizen Member Anna Ramlakhan, Citizen Member

Anna Maria Harra Ottiara Marala

Anne Marie Hayes, Citizen Member

Leonard Verwey, Citizen Member (Mississauga Cycling Advisory Committee Representative)

Michael Matthew, Citizen Member

Sunil Sharma, Citizen Member

Tamara Coulson, Citizen Member (Traffic Safety Council Representative)

Thomas Barakat, Citizen Member

Tony Power, Citizen Member

Trevor Howard, Citizen Member

Agency Representatives/City Staff

Inspector Paul Pogue, Officer in Charge, Road Safety Services, Peel Regional Police Sandra Fitzpatrick, Manager, Chronic Disease and Injury Prevention Peel Public Health Sergeant Sean Cole, Operational Support, Highway Safety Division, OPP (Port Credit Detachment) Seema Ansari, Technical Analyst, Peel Region Traffic Safety Colin Patterson, Supervisor, Road Safety, Traffic Management Kimberly Hicks, Communications Advisor

Contact

Allyson D'Ovidio, Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services 905-615-3200 ext. 5411 allyson.dovidio@mississauga.ca

Find it online/

http://www.mississauga.ca/portal/cityhall/roadsafetycommittee

1. **CALL TO ORDER** – 9:32 AM

1.1 Appointment of Chair

Allyson D'Ovidio, Legislative Coordinator, called for nominations of the Chair and Vice-Chair. Councillor Pat Saito was nominated and appointed as Chair.

1.2 Tony Power and Thomas Barakat, Citizen members, expressed their interest in being the Vice-Chair. By a vote of 6-4, Tony Power was appointed Vice-Chair.

RECOMMENDATION

RSC-0001-2017

- That Councillor Pat Saito (Ward 9) be appointed as the Chair of the Road Safety Committee until the end of the Council term, November 30, 2018 or until a successor is appointed; and
- 2. That Citizen Member, Tony Power, be appointed Vice-Chair of the Road Safety Committee until the end of the Council term, November 30, 2018 or until a successor is appointed.

Approved (K. Ras)

2. **APPROVAL OF AGENDA** – Approved (T. Coulson)

3. **DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST** – Nil

Members of the Committee introduced themselves. Councillor Saito advised the members about the term of the committee and noted that future discussions with be focussed on developing a workplan for the remainder of the 2014-2018 term and possibly making a budget request to Council.

4. **DEPUTATIONS**

4.1. Seema Ansari, Technical Analyst, Traffic Safety, Region of Peel and Gordon Hui, Principal Planner, Region of Peel, with respect to the Region of Peel Road Safety Strategic Plan. (10 Minutes)

Seema Ansari spoke to the background of the presentation and introduced Gordon. Gordon presented the Region of Peel Draft Strategic Plan. Mr. Hui provided an introduction of the Road Safety Strategic Plan, noting the development of the project process, vision and goal, emphasis areas, awareness areas and countermeasures as well as the next steps. Mr. Hui also noted that the Region is working on updating their

Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP). The Vision and Goal of the plan is Vision Zero, "No loss of life is acceptable". Mr. Hui spoke about the collection of data through a public opinion survey conducted throughout the entire region (Caledon, Brampton and Mississauga) and noted that Peel Region's vision and goal statements were developed during the first workshop.

In response to comments from Leornard Verwey, Citizen member, Mr. Hui noted the four "E's" of the plan; Engineering, Education, Empathy and Enforcement are a combination of everything, not only public opinion. This is a proactive approach versus reactive approach. Inspector Paul Pogue, Peel Regional Police, spoke about aggressive driving.

Anne Marie Hayes, Citizen member shared information with the committee about an upcoming Vision Zero conference being held in Toronto. Members of the committee engaged in a discussion about their interests in attending the conference.

RECOMMENDATION

RSC-0002-2017

- That the deputation and associated PowerPoint presentation by Seema Ansari, Technical Analyst, Traffic Safety, Region of Peel and Gordon Hui, Principal Planner, Region of Peel, with respect to the Region of Peel Road Safety Strategic Plan, be received; and
- 2. That up to six Citizen Members from the Road Safety Committee attend the Vision Zero Conference March 1, 2018 and March 2, 2018, for one day each, and, funds be allocated from the 2018 Committee budget for registration and transportation costs up to the amount of \$2000.00.

Approved – (L. Verwey)

4.2. Colin Patterson, Supervisor, Road Safety, Traffic Management, City of Mississauga, with respect to Mississauga's Road Safety Programs and Initiatives. (10 Minutes)

Colin Patterson, Supervisor, Road Safety, Traffic Management provided an overview of the existing programs and initiatives within the City as well as the works that came from the previous Safe Driving committee which include; neighbourhood entrance signs, speed awareness devices, road watch program, zebra striped Crosswalk Pilot, and now an annual program and Traffic Calming.

Mr. Patterson identified some of the initiatives that are presently being investigated including the "Please Slow Down" lawn sign campaign. In response to Leonard Verwey, Citizen member, Councillor Saito noted that lawn signs are resident initiated and that citizens re canvassed about reducing speed limits once the concerns have been

identified. Members of the committee engaged in a discussion with respect to the slow down signs; the use of photo radar and automated speed enforcement systems; the new system of cameras on the arms of school buses and the costs associated with such systems.

RECOMMENDATION

RSC-0003-2017

That the deputation and associated PowerPoint presentation by Colin Patterson, Supervisor, Road Safety, Traffic Management, City of Mississauga, with respect to Mississauga's Road Safety Programs and Initiatives, be received.

Received – (A.M. Hayes)

5. PUBLIC QUESTION PERIOD - 15 Minute Limit (5 Minutes per Speaker) - None
Pursuant to Section 42 of the Council Procedure By-law 0139-2013, as amended:
The Road Safety Committee may grant permission to a member of the public to ask a question of the Road Safety Committee, with the following provisions:

The question must pertain to a specific item on the current agenda and the speaker will state which item the question is related to.

A person asking a question shall limit any background explanation to two (2) statements, followed by the question.

The total speaking time shall be five (5) minutes maximum, per speaker.

6. MATTERS TO BE CONSIDERED

6.1. 2018 Road Safety Committee Meeting Dates.

Councillor Saito spoke about the existing Road Safety handbook noting that it needs to be refreshed and requested that members have a look at the book and identify areas they find need to be addressed or things that can be added. Councillor Saito noted that we will need to establish a budget for the updated book.

Members discussed the different ways in which they can participate. Councillor Saito noted there are changes coming with respect to meeting participation and Bill 68. In January, the committee will discuss Vision Zero.

Allyson D'Ovidio, Legislative Coordinator, will share presentations, procedures and contact information with the members.

RECOMMENDATION

RSC-0004-2017

That memorandum from Allyson D'Ovidio, Legislative Coordinator, entitled 2018 Road Safety Committee Meeting Dates, be recieved.

- 7. **OTHER BUSINESS** None
- 8. **DATE OF NEXT MEETING** January 30, 2018
- 9. **ADJOURNMENT** 11:30 AM (A.M. Hayes)