

MINUTES

SESSION 16

INAUGURAL MEETING OF

THE COUNCIL OF

THE CORPORATION OF THE CITY OF MISSISSAUGA (www.mississauga.ca)

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 2, 2014 at 7:33 P.M.

LIVING ARTS CENTRE
HAMMERSON HALL
4141 LIVING ARTS DRIVE
MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO L5B 4B8

D	Marria Danala Onendala
Present:	Mayor Bonnie Crombie

Councillor Jim Tovey Ward 1 Councillor Karen Ras Ward 2 Councillor Chris Fonseca Ward 3 Councillor Frank Dale Ward 4 Councillor Carolyn Parrish Ward 5 Councillor Ron Starr Ward 6 Councillor Nando Iannicca Ward 7 Councillor Matt Mahoney Ward 8 Councillor Pat Saito Ward 9 Councillor Sue McFadden Ward 10 Councillor George Carlson Ward 11

STAFF: Janice Baker, City Manager and Chief Administrative Officer

Gary Kent, Commissioner of Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer

Paul Mitcham, Commissioner of Community Services Martin Powell, Commissioner of Transportation and Works

Ed Sajecki, Commissioner of Planning and Building Mary Ellen Bench, City Solicitor, Legal Services

Crystal Greer, Directive of Legislative Services and City Clerk Diana Rusnov, Manager of Legislative Services and Deputy Clerk

Sacha Smith, Team Lead and Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services Division

Carmela Radice, Legislative Coordinator, Legislative Services Division

1. CALL TO ORDER (WELCOME) - 7:33 p.m.

Janice Baker welcomed all those present and introduced the members of Council for the 2014-2018 term, City's Leadership Team and special guests.

The Invocation was performed by Garry Sault, Elder from the Mississaugas of The New Credit First Nation.

2. <u>DECLARATIONS OF OFFICE</u>

Crystal Greer administered the Declaration of Office to Mayor Bonnie Crombie and presented Mayor Crombie with the Chain of Office.

Crystal Greer administered the Declaration of Office to the Councillors.

3. **RESOLUTIONS**

0217-2014 Moved by: K. Ras Seconded by: C. Parrish

WHEREAS section 71 (1) of the Council Procedure By-law 0139-2013, as amended, identifies that the Standing Committees of Council shall comprise all Members of Council and subsection 74 (1) requires the members to be appointed by Resolution;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT all Members of Council be appointed to the following Standing Committees for the term of Council commencing December 1, 2014 through November 30, 2018, or until a successor is appointed:

- (i) Budget Committee
- (ii) General Committee
- (iii) Planning and Development Committee
- (iv) Transportation Committee

Carried

0218-2014 Moved by: C. Parrish S

Seconded by: M. Mahoney

That a by-law be enacted to appoint an Acting Head of Council on a rotating basis for the 2014-2018 term of office.

Carried

4. INTRODUCTION AND CONSIDERATION OF BY-LAW

O271-2014 A by-law to appoint an Acting Head of Council for The Corporation of the City of Mississauga for the 2014-2018 term.

Resolution 0218-2014

5. MAYOR CROMBIE WILL ADDRESS GUESTS

Mayor Crombie delivered her Inaugural address.

6. CONFIRMATORY BY-LAW

0272-2014 A by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of The Corporation of the City of Mississauga at its meeting held on December 2, 2014.

7. <u>ADJOURNMENT – 8:26 p.m.</u>

WATOR	WATOR	 MAYOR
		WAYOR
OI FDI/		CLERK